Meet Our Chairs


The Urban Ecology Collaborative is made up of many organizations. There are two UEC Co-Chairs that have alternating terms for two year periods. Co-Chairs are generally selected to have different roles in supporting urban ecosystems, do not live in the same city, and are not part of the same organization. Once a Co-Chair has completed their term of service, they are asked to sit on the steering committee for at least one year past the expiration of their service as Co-Chair.

 

UEC Co-Chairs

Term: 2018-2019

Dexter Locke, Postdoctoral Fellow, National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC), University of Maryland

Email: dexter.locke@gmail.com

&

Sophie Earll, Research Associate, Casey Trees

Email: Searll@caseytrees.org

 

Past UEC Co-Chairs

Term: 2016-2017

Charles, Murphy – Baltimore Parks and Rec

Email: charles.murphy@baltimorecity.gov 

Term: 2015-2016

Jessica Sanders, PhD – Director of Technical Services and Research at Casey Trees, Washington, D.C.

Email: jsanders@caseytrees.org

Office Phone: 202-349-1905

 

Term: 2014-2015

Mike Duran-Mitchell – Director of Urban Forestry at New York Restoration Project, New York, NY

Email: mmitchell@nyrp.org

Office Phone: 212-333-2552

 

Term: 2013-2014

Erica Smith Fichman – TreePhilly Program Manager at Philadelphia Parks & Recreation, Philadelphia, PA

Email: erica.smith@phila.gov

 

Term: 2012-2013

Sarah Tobing – Project Manager for Wetlands and Riparian Restoration at New York City Department of Parks and Recreation, New York, NY

Email: sarah.tobing@parks.nyc.gov